British theatre’s most sought-after awards have been a mark of theatrical greatness since they were inaugurated in 1976 as the Society of West End Theatre Awards. The society is now known as Society of London Theatre (SOLT) and its glittering awards are now the Olivier Awards in honour of a theatrical legend.
Be inspired by theatre’s biggest night as the Olivier Awards with Mastercard returns to the Royal Albert Hall in 2018! The Oliviers are a mark of theatrical greatness with live performances from the West End’s biggest shows, famous faces, and extraordinary talent; this is a night you won’t want to miss.
Tickets for the Olivier Awards 2018 with Mastercard are available to Mastercard cardholders only.
West End musical Hamilton had 13 nominations in total, the most a production has ever received in the ceremony’s history.
The red carpet arrivals were screened live on Facebook from 16:00 with interviews hosted by Anita Rani. The event was broadcast live on Magic Radio at 18:00 and later in the evening on ITV television at 22:20.
A red carpet was laid on the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Steps with Press pen for red carpet arrivals.
Guests at the event included: Kara Tointon (actress), Imogen Poots (actress), Lesley Manville (actress), Christine Allado (actress), Summer Strallen (actress), Michelle Collins (actress), Tracie Bennett (actress), Ronnie Wood (musician) and Sally Humphreys (actress), Brian May (musician) and Anita Dobson (actress), Carrie Hope Fletcher (actress), Bertie Carvel (actor), Laura Wade (playwright), Derren Brown (illusionist), Gary Lineker (presenter), Jamie Campbell (drag queen), Imelda Staunton (actress) and Jim Carter (actor), Bessie Carter (actress), Cassidy Janson (singer, actress), Francesca Velicu (dancer), Bryan Cranston (actor), Laura Donnelly (actress), Meera Syal (actress, writer), Marianne Elliott (director), Shirley Henderson (actress), Nevin Steinberg (sound designer), Marcelino Sambe (dancer), Kristen McNally (dancer, choreographer), Daniela Barcellona (singer), Jez Butterworth (playwright), Marchu Girma (campaigner), Natalia Osipova (dancer), Leanne Cope (dancer, actress), Marai Larasi (campaigner), David Lan (playwright), Jeffrey Dean Morgan (actor), Andrew Scott (actor), Clarke Peters (actor), Caroline O'Connor (actress), Andrea Simon (director), Kim Maresca (actress, model), Janie Dee (actress, singer), Tanya Ronder (actress), Rufus Norris (director), Jennifer Joseph (actress), Marianne Elliott (director), Isaac Hernandez (dancer), Tamara Rojo (artistic director), Erik Woolhouse (dancer), Jessica Swale, Arinze Kene (playwright), Andy Blankenbuehler (dancer, choreographer), Aisling Bea (comedian, actress), Chita Rivera (actress, dancer, singer), Arlene Phillips (choreographer, presenter), Adrienne Warren (actress, singer, dancer), Layton Williams (actor), Sam Mendes (director), Gary Owen (actor), Rachel O'Riordan (director), Joshua Kane (menswear designer), Laura Pradelska (actress), Stephen Tompkinson (actor), Madelaine Brennan (actress), Peter Polycarpou (actor), Ollie Proudlock (reality TV personality), Patrick Myles (actor), Amy Noble (actress), Mina Anwar (actress), Joshua Andrews (producer), Alfie Oldman (actor), Eileen Walsh (actress), Helene Patarot (actress), Ciaran Hinds (actor), Justine Simons (Deputy Mayor for Culture and the Creative Industries), Joe Murphy (director), Sonia Friedman (producer), Robin Dearden (actress), Sir Matthew Bourne (choreographer), Lucy Moss (actress), Toby Marlow (actor), Drew McOnie (choreographer), Dominic Cooke (director), Alex Lacamoire (musical director), Nina Sosanya (actress).
Several of the guests wore TimesUp pin badges.
An apology was later issued by The Oliviers for the oversight of having left our Sir Peter Hall during the In Memoriam section of the event.
An aftershow party was held at the Natural History Museum.

Event Date and Time

8 April 2018 - 17:45

Orchestra or Band


Event Category

Support the Royal Albert Hall

Please support the Royal Albert Hall during the coronavirus crisis. Donate online, or text 70490 with the following:

10ALBERT to donate £10

20ALBERT to donate £20